I heart my kids. :)

Standard

Admittedly, I have kind of failed on keeping up the blog this month….but you must forgive me. I’ll try to do better.

A post that has been percolating in my brain for the last month or so (terrible that I haven’t written it till now, I know, but in my defense I’ve been traveling, planning future travels and oh yeah, working as well) is one about “my kids.” They are the reason for my being here in Spain, and you know what? As much as they sometimes drive me crazy and exhaust me and whatnot, I absolutely love ’em.

A cheesy and generic sentiment, I know, but it’s true. It’s definitely not easy being a teacher, a teacher’s aide or an after-school tutor (the hats of all of which I wear at some point during the week), but the candid, adorable, funny, random antics of those kids make it well worth it. I’ve always enjoyed kids and used to be a Sunday School teacher for nursery ages as well as teach dance lessons to kids of all ages. Jake will tell you that I get distracted quite easily any time a cute little one passes us on the street. But I think being a teacher (or working in a school) takes that a step further, somehow.

At my schools in Alberite and Albelda, I teach kids ages 3-5, and 1st through 6th grade, while in the academy, I’m with kids from 2nd to about 8th grade. It’s quite a range, for sure, but the variety is fun. There are definitely advantages and disadvantages to every age group. For example, my 5th graders are always really enthusiastic, curious (we had fun one day as I was explaining some winter weather terms associated with Nebraska winters….they now know the words sleet, wind chill and frostbite, haha and were awestruck that it actually got “dangerous” on roads) and have enough of a handle on English that we can do a lot. On the flip side, they never cease their talking and can sometimes have some attitude problems. My 3 and 4 year olds, on the other hand, probably don’t grasp too much of what I’m talking about outside of colors, numbers, and “Head, Shoulders, Knees & Toes” (to their credit, they are three and four years old. I barely knew those things in English at those ages). However, they constantly melt my heart with their wide-eyed, rapt attention when I read them stories, their darling trilled shouts of “Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrriannnna!” when I come in the classroom, and their predisposition to group hug tackles that nearly bowl me over. 🙂 Gosh, but they’re precious. I had a blast making snowflakes (and practicing writing/speaking winter words) with my 1st graders last week (picture below) and witnessing their excitement upon opening up each of their own, unique snowflake creations. My 3rd and 4th graders have so much fun learning and singing songs (or raps, at times) and always giggle when I act silly during presentations (I think sometimes my 6th graders/older ones give me pity laughs sometimes, but oh well, can’t please ’em all). No matter how my day is going, or if I’m sick or if I’m stressed, it always puts a smile on my face to walk into my schools and be greeted endlessly with “Hellos!” and “Brrrrianna!” at every turn.

Image

A few of my 1st graders in Alberite showing off their creations. The boy on the right said "I can't smile because I have teeth missing." How precious! 🙂

ImageImage

Me and the group (and their snowflakes)! I usually don't look that crazed during class, just that moment caught me a bit weirdly...hah, at least I'm smiling!

More updates/pics of my sweet kids to come.

About briannehake

Language & culture assistant in Spain. Recent UNL Advertising & public relations grad. Thrilled about future possibilities. Addicted to traveling. Fascinated by CSR and sustainable development. Dreams someday of helping businesses and nonprofit organizations collaborate for better communities and a better world. And dancing. Lots of dancing.

One response »

  1. Of course you know that when you talk about your teaching I am thrilled ! What a terrific atmosphere in which to teach. Having such a variety of ages is a huge plus. This gives you experiences far deeper than one grade for one year. In our Family School, we like to say it’s like a “one room country school.” Older children are so helpful with the younger ones. Our current project is making gingerbread houses! I just love your blog and I really appreciate your taking the time to let us vicariously share your journey. Having the pictures keeps me from feeling you are too far away! For instance, those pictures of your engagement surprise are terrific. Don’t worry about the time intervals, your comments are worth the wait!

Leave a Reply

