Canaries, orientation, tapas, and oh, teaching, too.

Standard

Hola!

Spain has been a total blur so far…I’ve already been here for 3 weeks (!!! how is that possible?) and it is really feeling like home (especially upon return from weekend trips). But let me give you a run down of the highlights since my last post:

-A random, but awesome trip before we started work (holiday-within-a-holiday) to the Canary Islands. Beautiful beaches and huge sand dunes; our darling seaside town called Puerto Mogán;  a colorful/fascinating/welcoming/perfect hostel called Volver (which I would highly recommend if you plan to visit Gran Canaria); new friends and amazing paella de mariscos (the Spanish dish paella, which combines rice, veggies and in this case, seafood, in a skillet full of joy) all of which made the visit an unforgettable one. Also, shout-out our new friends Nina and Jenny, our German-with-Australian-accent hostel-mates we hung out with during our stay.

 

-Next, orientation in Madrid for the Auxiliares de Conversación program: a four hour bus ride from Logroño to Madrid successful navigation of the Metro, two nights free room/board in a hotel & meeting lots of new friends (both American Auxiliares and others from Canada and parts of Europe). Also, the sessions were held almost entirely in Spanish (all except the one at the end about security measures… they must mean business on that one, since it was in English)… which was a good and a bad thing. A good thing because I got a lot of it–I know that makes my Spanish ability sound miserable, but it was an accomplishment for me; a bad thing because I definitely missed some key details. Meh. I think I’ll survive.

 

 

-Tapas. I know, I know, you’ve heard about this before, but I am positively swooning over the tapas served in our city, particularly on Calle Laurel (the famous tapas street). They. Are. So. Stinkin. Good. And really affordable, for the quality of food you’re getting! Totally had four  different tapas or “mini dishes” tonight as my cena (supper) with Jake and it cost us each about 7 euro apiece. Not bad. Not bad.

 

 

-Last…I start teaching tomorrow! Yikes. No, I’m really pretty excited, but it’s a bit nerve-wracking as well of course. I won’t be starting with my schools in my role as an Auxiliar (laymans terms: language and culture assistant, so therefore not a main teacher) until Tuesday, but I will be meeting with my second school in Albelda tomorrow, which is exciting. I met with my other school in Alberite earlier this week and know I’m going to love it there. Evidently they Googled me and saw pictures of me doing ballroom dance (as I am wont to do) and one of the teachers wants me to teach him how! All in all, they were very nice, very helpful and seem like great future colleagues. But anyway, back to the present: I’m helping teach at an after-school English academy in addition to my duties as an Auxiliar, and that starts tomorrow…with little ones! My first class I’m teaching (and the only one I actually know for sure about) is the infantíl group: ages 3-5. Later tomorrow evening I’ll be working with a mix of several more primary school classes, but the first day is all introductions and fun, so I don’t think I have much to stress about. Wish me suerte (luck)!

Until next time, amigos. ¡Hasta luego! (I feel like that should be said in the voice of the Dos Equis guy…”stay thirsty, my friends”) jaja. 🙂

 

About briannehake

Language & culture assistant in Spain. Recent UNL Advertising & public relations grad. Thrilled about future possibilities. Addicted to traveling. Fascinated by CSR and sustainable development. Dreams someday of helping businesses and nonprofit organizations collaborate for better communities and a better world. And dancing. Lots of dancing.

One response »

Leave a Reply

