Un mes hasta…/One month to go until departure.

Standard

Wow. It’s really only one, UN month before I leave. You’ll have to forgive me weaving Spanish words into my primarily English blog posts. I’m trying to get in the zone, but would like you all to still be able to understand what I’m writing about, jaja (that would be the Español version of “haha” FYI).

Anyway: the countdown is on. I do not have my visa (though I know it’s ready, now). Don’t have a plane ticket booked. Am still fully inhabiting my apartment with nada packed up. Okaaaay…well, no time like the present. It just seems like this all crept up on me! (Well, it sort of did, as we’d originally planned on leaving about a week/week and a half later than we are now, but just found out that we have training for our positions with an English teaching academy in Logroño on the 12th of September.)

It’s all good, though. I’m trying to meet up with friends and tie up loose ends before I leave, and what gets done, gets done, I suppose. For now, I’m daydreaming about Sp—I mean WORKING at a coffee shop while listening to the most glorious Pandora station: Paco de Lucia (a Spanish/flamenco guitarist). While I’m well aware that Spain is not all flamenco and bullfights (oh, but if it were…) the music of their heritage is still an integral part of their culture and a way I can feel like I’m getting to know it.

Me encanta este canción… (doesn’t that express so much more passion than “I love this song”?!!) and I hope you enjoy it too!

About briannehake

Language & culture assistant in Spain. Recent UNL Advertising & public relations grad. Thrilled about future possibilities. Addicted to traveling. Fascinated by CSR and sustainable development. Dreams someday of helping businesses and nonprofit organizations collaborate for better communities and a better world. And dancing. Lots of dancing.

One response »

  1. I love this blog!!!!!
    Can’t wait to keep up with (live vicariously through) your adventures! Living in the moment, cherishing your today…..that has been so real to me lately. I tell my kids that this is the one and only August 24, 2011 you will ever get–so make it amazing!! Thanks for teaching me to see the beauty in myself and in life.
    love u.

Leave a Reply

